– Professional Scrum Master I – PSM I

PSM I LogoProve Your Knowledge of Scrum and the Scrum Master Accountabilities

The Professional Scrum Master™ I (PSM I) certification validates your knowledge of the Scrum framework, the Scrum Master accountabilities and how to apply Scrum. 

PSM I is recognized by the industry as a certification that demonstrates a fundamental level of Scrum mastery. As a PSM I certification holder, you have proven that you understand Scrum as described in the Scrum Guide and how to apply Scrum in Scrum Teams. PSM I holders have a consistent terminology and approach to Scrum. The cost of PSM I test is $200 USD per attempt. Assessment passwords do not expire and remain valid until used. See more details below.

While attendance is not a prerequisite, there are courses available to help you prepare for the test and gain a stronger understanding of Scrum. Depending on your role, either the Applying Professional Scrum or Professional Scrum Master course is highly recommended. 

PSM I includes questions from the following Focus Areas as defined in the Professional Scrum Competencies.

  • Understanding and Applying the Scrum Framework:
    • Empiricism, Scrum Values, Scrum Team, Events, Artifacts, Done
  • Developing People and Teams:
    • Self-Managing Teams, Facilitation, Coaching
  • Managing Products with Agility:
    • Forecasting & Release Planning, Product Value, Product Backlog Management, Stakeholders & Customers